A Little Game of Tag

I don't speak German but I think this has something to do with tag.

I was tagged by one of Snarky’s first followers, Laughing at Everyday Life, in a fun little Q&A game. In true Snarky fashion, I’m not going to follow the rules per se.

The rules are:

  • you must post the rules (check)
  • answer the questions the tagger set for you in their post (not so much)
  • create eleven new questions to ask the people you’ve tagged (I’m going to answer my own questions.)
  • tag eleven people with a link to your post (got it)
  • let them know you tagged them (will do)

QUESTIONS

  1. Do you have a test or tests that help you judge someone’s character? My mom told me that a good friend will always wait to make sure you got inside the house before they leave after dropping you off at home. This test has never failed me. I also don’t trust people who don’t like pizza or say that they don’t have a favorite book or movie or band. If you can’t rattle off at least five per category that are your favorites I am immediately suspicious of you.
  2. When did you first feel like a grown up? At age 18 when I got my first credit card and my first ulcer. In that order.
  3. What is something you read that made you wish you could write that well? A short story, Ash, by Roddy Doyle.
  4. What do you say when you answer the phone? Hello. Nothing fancy.
  5. Have you ever stiffed someone on a tip? No. Even when the service is bad. I just can’t do it.
  6. Do you have a favorite writing utensil? Yes. A Pilot Precise V5 Rolling Ball, Extra Fine. Color: Turquoise.
  7. Do you use a calendar? Yes. A calendar made from paper. My favorite is the Moleskine Extra Small Daily Planner. It looks like a tiny Gideons Bible.
  8. Do you have road rage? Yes. Every failure to signal or cut-off is a personal attack. I also have a 1-2-3-Honk policy if I am behind you at a light. If the light is green for three seconds without you moving, I will honk at you.
  9. Are you a morning person or a night owl? Night owl. Don’t talk to me before 8am. It’s best for all involved. Preferably after 9am but I do need to be a functioning member of society.
  10. What surprised you about blogging when you first started? I thought I would immediately have haters commenting that my blog is stupid. I guess I’m not big enough for that yet.
  11. How do you feel about this type of blogging phenomenon (tagging/awards)? At first, I thought it was cheesy. But then I realized that it’s part of being in the blogging community and supporting other blogs that you love. And I’m all about that.

OK, now to bestow these questions upon 11 lucky bloggers. Of course it is your choice whether or not to participate. Or to follow the rules.

attemptedblog

Man of Errors

Linda Vernon Humor

Susie Lindau’s Wild Ride

Good Humored

The Byronic Man

nerdodyssey

Liquorstore Bear

the Daily Misfortune

Post it Notes from my Idiot Boss

Abnormal Steps to Becoming a Normal Adult

10 thoughts on “A Little Game of Tag

  1. Thanks for the shout out. Since you are a rule breaker yourself, you’ll understand that I am breaking the rules and answering your questions here:

    1. A person’s sense of humor is a big character indicator for me. If a person can’t laugh at him/herself or a situation, I’m not going to enjoy spending time with them. I also think the way people treat animals is an indicator of their character.
    2. I felt like a grown up for the first time when I paid $1000 for dirt. We were new in our home and needed to regrade the side yard. Writing a check for dirt that kept my yard from being a mosquito infested swamp made me realize I wasn’t a kid anymore.
    3. The Harry Potter books made me wish that I could write that well. Rowling’s creativity amazed me.
    4. I don’t say anything when I answer the phone. I just breathe heavily and see how the caller reacts. – just kidding, but “hello” seemed like such a boring answer to this question
    5. I’ve never intentionally stiffed someone on a tip. I do have notoriously bad math skills and it is entirely possible that my calculations were incorrect causing me to stiff someone.
    6. My favorite writing utensil is a Bic Velocity pencil with size .9 “leads”. I almost never write in pen. I make way too many mistakes to use ink.
    7. I used a paper calendar for years. Last year when I got my Android they showed me how to use the calendar feature. I was reluctant at first and kept the paper calendar and the one on my phone, but now I love using my phone.
    8. I don’t really have road rage, but I have been known to yell expletives within my own car to vent my frustration.
    9. I’m more of a late morning/early afternoon kind of girl.
    10. There are a lot of things that surprised me about blogging. Like you, I thought I would get all kinds of negative comments, but I was surprised to learn what wonderful people are out here blogging. I’m also blown away by how far reaching these blogs are. It’s staggering to think that someone half way around the world is reading the words that I write. I’m really enjoying the connections I have made with people.
    11. This is my fourth tag in a week. These blogging games are fun and a great way to promote other blogs, but I’m pretty sure my readers would mutiny if they had to read posts with 44 questions and answers.

    • I like your rule-breaking style! Good way to avoid a revolt! 🙂 Also, I never thought about how strange it is to pay for dirt. Thanks for playing along. Sorry, there are no lovely parting gifts.

  2. Great answers both of you!

    But must agree with Snarky’s mom. It drives me nuts how few people actually wait till a person is inside safe and sound. The other one is getting in your car at night and not even making sure the persons car has started.

  3. Wow! Thanks for thinking of me. The one night that I am out! And I am such a loyal follower! I love your answers. You really made me think about what constitutes a good friend and drop off. I think you are absolutely right! I am not sure that my answers would be interesting enough for blog post, but I will think about it!

  4. Great questions and answers! Yes to #10! I’ll know I’ve really made it as a blogger when someone comments that I’m unAmerican and I can take my stupid communism and shove it.

  5. Pingback: Tag! You’re it. You’re its. All 11 of you. « Liquorstore Bear

You look like you have something to say. Do you?