One Lovely Blog

I'll pretend there is a physical award and this is what it looks like. A golden doughnut with a bite taken out of it.

In the most cheap way imaginable, I have been nominated for the One Lovely Blog award. Thanks to The Life and Times of Nathan Badley for spreading some blog love and passing on the nomination to the first ones to comment on his post. His blog is one of the first that I followed when I started this blog adventure in December.

Although I am new to this wide world of blogging, in a short time I have enjoyed reading many blogs! For the One Lovely Blog award, I have to list 7 facts about myself and nominate 10 other blogs (although it is hard to narrow it down to 10)! Some of the blogs below are well-established and I hope they already know how lovely they are. But everyone needs a reminder sometimes.

This kind of feels like an old school chain letter. Or maybe one of those e-mail forwards that if you don’t forward to 10 people you’ll have bad luck. But it is still fun to celebrate great blogs!

Seven facts about yourself…

1. I don’t know how to swim. I have no interest in learning. I don’t see what the big fuss is about. It doesn’t look like that much fun.

2. On the first day of 1st grade we had to draw a picture of something that makes us laugh. I drew a picture of a cat fight.

3. Last year, I was super excited for a very short listener interview on one of my favorite radio shows/podcasts, Sound Opinions.

4. I prefer the British spelling of the word “grey”.

5. I am writing a screenplay. I have no idea what I am doing.

6. I love marching bands. Who invented parades?

7. I saw a Great Horned Owl a few months ago. It was amazing.

 

And the nominees are…

A Confederacy of Spinsters

The Middlest Sister

Childhood Relived

Jonah said/Ben said

Cereal with a Fork

mj monaghan

A Creative Mind in a Corporate World

Let’s Get Thrifty

This Page Intentionally Blank

The Good Greatsby

27 thoughts on “One Lovely Blog

  1. Congrats! And thank you! What a great group! I have read most of those blogs and I don’t feel quite worthy to be listed among them.

    I, too, like the British version of “grey”. I know how to swim and I can tell you that you’re not missing much. I’m one of those weird people who has zero interest in a day at the beach.

    • Even though I don’t comment that often, I very much enjoy your blog!

      I’m with you, I have never taken a beach vacation. I think I would get bored sitting at the beach for days! Oh and I also don’t take many vacations.

  2. Fascinating. Black, silver, grey and gray is my favorite palette. Now I know the difference between the spellings. I’m going to do some research, see how it changed to gray. I don’t have a preference; whichever finger touches the a or e key first. Not only do I like marching bands, I also like polka and elevator music. Led Zepellin and straight ahead jazz, too. And Clip Snark! It’s one email I really look forward to.

    • When people say that I should learn how to swim for safety reasons, I usually tell them that I can float very well. My strategy is to float until someone saves me. I also don’t put myself in situations where I am near a large body of water except Lake Michigan sometimes and I don’t want to swim in that for health and safety reasons. πŸ™‚

      I’m glad I got a chance to show off your great blog! πŸ™‚

  3. Hey Snarky, finally made it to your site and find it quite inspiring. Who doesn’t like a good rant about all those absurdities floating around!
    Incidentally I also like ‘grey’ better – go figure!
    On the swimming bit: Swimming is pretty much the only sport I have ever not sucked at. Don’t know, maybe that’s the appeal to me…
    Anyway, congrats, fellow blog award winner. I’m sure if Nathan hadn’t done the ‘first come, first serve’ dishing out and instead have thought a little longer and harder, he would have come up with your name anyway.

    • Thanks for stopping by! I guess we all gravitate towards things we are naturally good at. I wanted to learn how to play the guitar in high school so I could be like Jewel. But I never practiced and just got frustrated because it looks so easy when other people do it! I blame my inability to play guitar on my tiny hands. Maybe I should have played a kid-sized guitar.

    • Thanks so much! Owls usually come out at night so they can be hard to find. I heard one hooting outside after I went to bed one night and ventured out to find it. I had to follow the sound of the hoot for a while before I could actually see it! πŸ™‚

  4. Congratulations on your blog award! I love to swim but I am a pretty good floater too so it’s all good! I actually believe the Puritans came to the new world so they could change the spelling of grey to gray. I’m pretty sure anyway . . . I could be wrong.

  5. Pingback: Jonah and Ben say thank you, too | Jonah said/Ben said

You look like you have something to say. Do you?

